Even though this was written over two years ago it still resonates with me today. I have been thinking about N & S and RA more than usual because of the 10 year anniversary.

Me + Richard Armitage

Richard Armitage as John Thornton in a publicity still for North & South. Source: RichardArmitageNet.com

***

When last I left you, in the narrative of how Armitagemania hit, I was sitting in the dark, having just turned on North & South. These expository posts on the series that I’ve been publishing lately explore the way that I was fascinated by the work / principles narrative of the piece, but I’ve left out the kind of emotional explosion that kept me watching despite the difficult themes (mostly because when I tried to write this earlier, I got stuck. Now I’m unstuck).

I’ve emphasized that my appreciation of North & South was / is not about the love story because I think it’s natural to attribute the sudden all-attention-encompassing reaction to an effect not unlike the rubbing of a numbing salve on top of a particularly traumatized patch of…

View original post 4,748 more words

